Laws of
Sri Lanka

The Constitution of Sri Lanka gives equal place to the official languages of Sri Lanka, namely Sinhala and Tamil. However the process of writing and publicising laws has mostly been carried out in English.

Therefore the citizens of Sri Lanka do not have access to read the laws that affect them. This website will provide translated summaries of the most relevant laws, Acts and other legislative documents important to the citizens of Sri Lanka.

This post is also available in: தமிழ், සිංහල

Frequently Accessed Laws