Public Administration Circular No : 17/96

My No : III/163/1/L/L Ministry of Public Administration, Home Affairs, Plantation Industries and Parliamentary Affairs, Independence Square, Colombo 7.

20th June, 1996

All Secretaries to Ministries and Heads of Departments.

Duty Hours of Public Servants

Your reference is requested to para 1:1 of Chapter XXVIII of the Establishments Code. The Government has decided that the office hours of all public sector employees except Minor Employees should be from 9.00 a.m. to 4.45 p.m. (with 30 minutes for lunch interval) with effect from 24.06.1996. Government offices should facilities for cash transactions till 3.30 p.m. on all working days.

02. In terms of the Public Administration Circular No. 162 the hours of duty of Minor Employees i.e. Karyala Karya Sahayakas, Cycle Orderlies, Office Labourers and parallel grades will be form 8.30 a.m. to 5.15 p.m. (with 30 minutes for lunch interval)

03. The concessions granted under Public Administration Circular Nos. 3/92 and 6/94 for late comers will get revised according to new office hours.

Sgd. R.S. Jayaratne Secretary Ministry of Public Administration, Home Affairs, Plantation Industries and Parliamentary Affairs,